Award winning producer and Extra TV host, Tracey Edmonds will be honored with the Excellence in Entertainment Award at the 57th Annual Genii (pronounced “Jeannie”) Awards on Thursday, May 5th as part of Digital Hollywood at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles.  The Genii Awards acknowledge the notable achievements of excellence by women in media and entertainment.  This ceremony is sponsored by the Alliance for Women in Media Southern California Foundation (AWM SoCal), a nonprofit organization helping to empower and fuel professional development of women across the media landscape.

Senator Barbara Boxer, Netflix board member Anne Sweeney and Film Independent president Josh Welsh will be presenting the awards.

“It’s an honor to receive a Genii Award and walk in the footsteps of so many amazing women in our industry who have been trailblazers in media.” – Tracey Edmonds

Edmonds Extra TV co-host Charissa Thompson will also be honored at the gala event with the Excellence in Entertainment Award.

Sen. Boxer will present the Excellence in Documentary Award to her daughter Nicole Boxer, a documentary filmmaker (The Invisible War, The Hunting Ground) while Netflix board member and former president of Disney ABC Television Networks Anne Sweeney will present the Inspiration Award to friend Maggie Bellville, vice president at Hitachi Consulting.

Josh Welsh, president of Film Independent will present awards to the following film competition winners: Debris: Escombros, directed by Mary-Lyn Chambersfor Best Narrative Short.  Drama; Three Strikes, directed by Susan Davis for Best Narrative Short.  Comedy; Who Killed Eloa? directed by Livia Perez for for Best Documentary Short.  Before the Bomb, written by Tannaz Hazemi and James Grimaldi for Best Short Script.  Drama; And If I Don’t Lose, I’ll Lose, written by Jean St Clair for Best Short Script – Comedy.

“The Genii Awards are a day of pride and inspiration for everyone in our industry.  We will salute the pioneers, the GROUNDBREAKERS and the fearless innovators whose hard work has served as an inspiration to us all.” – Anne Sweeney

Past recipients of this award include, Tisha Campbell, Paula Madison, Diahann Carroll, Holly Robinson Peete, Whoopi Goldberg and more.

If you are interested in attending this event, please click HERE for tickets and for additional information.



About The Author

The HBR Media Team is a collective group of black women filmmakers, writers, and studio/network executives who are passionate about bringing visibility to women of African descent working in film and television.

Related Posts